Nominees now set for the 2022 St. Catharines Arts Awards

Published October 24, 2022 at 12:59 pm

The nominees are in for the 2022 St. Catharines Arts Awards, set to celebrate the most talented and creative minds in the community at the FirstOntario Performing Arts Centre on November 29.

In total, there are 20 nominees for awards in four categories: Established Artist, Emerging Artist, Arts in Education, and Making a Difference. One special patron will also be recognized with the Patron of the Arts award during the ceremony.

Nominees for the Arts in Education Award are Rachel Rensink-Hoff, Jana Simms-Bergsma and the Willow Arts Community.

Nominees for the Emerging Artist Award are Lillie Kazancioglu, Jill Lunn, Jonathan Moore and Kathryn Sinopoli.

Nominees for the Established Artist Award are Monica Dufault, Amy Friend, Sarah Jerrom, Joe Lavoie, Mori McCrae and Donna Szoke.

Nominees for the Making a Difference Award are Robert Burke, Bart Gazzola, Jill Lunn, Emily Oriold, The Empress Claudia Silva, Rebecca Walsh and the Willow Arts Community.

There will be a special announcement for the Patron of the Arts award at a later date.

“The talent that we will celebrate at the St. Catharines Arts Awards truly represents the best of our community,” said Ashley Judd-Rifkin, culture coordinator.

“The outstanding individuals and organizations that have been nominated for Arts Awards are all very deserving. Their commitment, creativity, and contributions have made St. Catharines a more beautiful, vibrant, and exciting place to live.”

The St. Catharines Arts Awards are set to livestream from Partridge Hall at the FirstOntario Performing Arts Centre on Tuesday, November 29 starting at 6:30 p.m. Details on the livestream event will be posted to the City’s social channels closer to the event.

Winners will receive a hand-crafted award by Clayton Haigh of Turnstyle Glassblowing Studio, and a cheque for $500.

Since its start in 2005, the Arts Awards have increased the visibility of St. Catharines’ artists and cultural industries, honoured cultural leaders, and cultivated financial and volunteer support for the arts sector.